Allergies and Special Diets | Dining Services

0

Shrimp and Pasta

Do you have particular dietary needs?

Allergen Program

Our Allergen Brochure explains our allergen program on campus and provides a good starting point for information.
We encourage all students with any kind of allergy or dietary restriction to fill
out our form to self-identify so that we can better understand your needs, communicate our options, and better
support your dining experience. We have informational resources and customized menus
to address your specific dietary need. We also suggest setting up a meeting with our
wellness manager or executive chef so we can better support your dining experience.
We are available to answer questions or set up a meeting via email at [email protected].

If you require accommodations due to allergens, health concerns, or disabilities please
register with Disability and Accessibility Services (DAS).

Text: 'F.A.R.E. Food Allergy Research & Education'Learn more about the University’s accommodations and resources from Loyola’s profile on the FARE (Food Allergy Research & Education) website. FARE is also a good resource for information on managing allergies.

Inspired Eats 

In our two main dining halls, Boulder and Iggy’s, there is a separate station called
Inspired Eats which offers an entrée, starch, and vegetable that 
is always free of wheat, egg, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, and sesame.
We use separate purple equipment and serving utensils for our
Inspired Eats production and station to help decrease any cross-contact issues. We
have procedures posted and in place for production staff and
service staff. Our management and cooks are trained to answer questions about prep
and ingredients.

Menu and Allergen Identifiers

All signage should indicate if any of the top eight allergens are included in any
menu items. The top eight allergens are eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, shellfish, soy,
tree nuts, and wheat. In addition, our menu items are labeled if they are vegetarian
or vegan.

gluten friendly label egg label treenut label soy label fish-label dairy label  sesame labelpeanut labelwheat labelshellfish-allergy
vegetarian label vegan label

Knowledgeable Staff

Text: 'Aller Train'We conduct allergen training programs at least twice per year with our team members
to educate them, as well as review procedures and policies for allergens. All of our
dining managers, chefs, and supervisors on campus are AllerTrain certified. AllerTrain
is an American National Standards Institute (ANSI) accredited program. Our management,
supervisors, and cooks are all certified in food safety by ServSafe.

Gluten-Friendly

For those who cannot eat foods with gluten, we have a wide variety of items that can
meet your dietary needs. In addition to daily menu specials, we offer gluten-friendly
options—including individually wrapped items such as bagels, muffins, bread, rolls,
brownies, and cookies—at all of our main dining locations.

If you have an allergy or another dietary concern, you can speak with any of our managers
or chefs. We encourage you to email us to set up a meeting or fill out our form to self identify so we can work with you and explain our options and procedures on campus.

Vegetarian and Vegan

Vegan Report Card from PETA: Grade A for Loyola University MarylandFor our vegetarian or vegan guests, we have a variety of options to accommodate your
diet at all of our dining locations. Our vegetarian and vegan options are more than
just salad and vegetables, we have vegan deli slices at the Boulder Deli, vegetarian
tacos every Tuesday, vegan kale burgers at the Grill, hummus at the Mediterranean
Salad Bar, vegetarian soup offered daily, and many more options.

We encourage you to email us to set up a meeting or fill out our form to self identify so we can work with you and explain our options and procedures on campus.

We received an “A” grade on our 2019 Vegan Report Card from PETA! Learn more with Loyola’s profile on the PETA website.

Nut Allergies

For our guests who have any nut allergies, we have a variety of options to accommodate
your diet at all of our dining locations. All of our menu specials are labeled with
peanut or tree nut symbols if the dish or menu item contains the allergen, e.g., almond
crusted chicken.

Our Boulder Garden Cafe dining location is a nut-free zone—we only offer peanut butter
and Nutella in individual packets for breakfast. The only tree nut you may find on
the menu in Boulder is coconut in our curry.

As for our other locations you can ask a manager or supervisor about dishes, or look
for the symbol or name of the item. We encourage you to email us to set up a meeting or fill out our form to self identify so we can work with you and explain our options and procedures on campus.

Faith-Based Diets

Halal

Boulder Options

  • Greyhound Grille (Grubhub Only)
    • Available to order from 11 am – 4 pm Mon.-Fri. on Grubhub 
    • Chicken Patties, Chicken Nuggets, and Beef Patties
    • Available as a meal swipe with your choice of sides and a drink, or with meal points

Iggy’s Options

  • Amy’s Frozen Meals (Halal Certified)
    • Amy’s Thai Red Curry And Vegetable
    • Amy’s Vegetable Pot Pie
    • Amy’s Tofu Scramble & Hash Browns
    • Amy’s Spinach and Vegetable Pizza
    • Amy’s Chili Mac Bowl
    • Available as an entree on a meal swipe every Wednesday, always available for purchase
      with meal points.

 

Students who want more information about faith-based dietary accommodations: please
reach out to Sean Bray to begin the conversation.

link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *